Ensure default for permission to view conversations is restricted
Scanned 9/3/2026
Install to Claude Code
npx -y skills add CyberStrikeus/CyberStrike --skill cis-gworkspace-3.1.6.3 --agent claude-codeInstalls into .claude/skills of the current project.
Are you the author of Cis Gworkspace 3.1.6.3?
Add the live security badge to your README — it updates automatically with every re-scan.
[](https://www.skillsdirectory.com/skills/cyberstrikeus-cis-gworkspace-3-1-6-3)More formats (shields.io, HTML) on the badges page.
---
name: cis-gworkspace-3.1.6.3
description: "Ensure default for permission to view conversations is restricted"
category: cis-gworkspace
version: "1.3.0"
author: cyberstrike-official
tags: [cis, gcp, google-workspace, groups, permissions, external-access]
cis_id: "3.1.6.3"
cis_benchmark: "CIS Google Workspace Foundations Benchmark v1.3.0"
tech_stack: [gcp, google-workspace]
cwe_ids: []
chains_with: []
prerequisites: []
severity_boost: {}
---
# 3.1.6.3 Ensure default for permission to view conversations is restricted
## Level
L1
## Profile Applicability
- Enterprise Level 1
## Type
Manual
## Description
By default, only allow group members to view group conversations.
## Rationale
Conversation viewing can always be expanded by exception for certain groups as needed (Need to know), but by default be restricted.
## Impact
No practical impact, since Group members can view conversations in the Group.
## Audit
To verify this setting via the Google Workspace Admin Console:
1. Log in to `https://admin.google.com` as an administrator
2. Select `Apps`
3. Select `Google Workspace`
4. Select `Groups for Business`
5. Select `Sharing options`
6. Verify `Default for permission to view conversations` is `All group members`
## Remediation
To configure this setting via the Google Workspace Admin Console:
1. Log in to `https://admin.google.com` as an administrator
2. Select `Apps`
3. Select `Google Workspace`
4. Select `Groups for Business`
5. Select `Sharing options`
6. Set `Default for permission to view conversations` to `All group members`
7. Select `Save`
## Default Value
`Default for permission to view conversations` is `All organization users`
## CIS Controls
| Controls Version | Control | IG 1 | IG 2 | IG 3 |
| ---------------- | ----------------------------------------------------- | ---- | ---- | ---- |
| v8 | 3.3 Configure Data Access Control Lists | x | x | x |
| v7 | 14.6 Protect Information through Access Control Lists | x | x | x |
## Profile
Level 1
Is this your skill, or is something wrong with this listing? Request removal or report an issue. Author removals are honored within 72 hours.
No comments yet. Be the first to comment!