Ensure shared drive file access is restricted to members only
Scanned 9/3/2026
Install to Claude Code
npx -y skills add CyberStrikeus/CyberStrike --skill cis-gworkspace-3.1.2.1.2.3 --agent claude-codeInstalls into .claude/skills of the current project.
Are you the author of Cis Gworkspace 3.1.2.1.2.3?
Add the live security badge to your README — it updates automatically with every re-scan.
[](https://www.skillsdirectory.com/skills/cyberstrikeus-cis-gworkspace-3-1-2-1-2-3)More formats (shields.io, HTML) on the badges page.
---
name: cis-gworkspace-3.1.2.1.2.3
description: "Ensure shared drive file access is restricted to members only"
category: cis-gworkspace
version: "1.3.0"
author: cyberstrike-official
tags: [cis, gcp, google-workspace, drive, docs, shared-drives, file-access]
cis_id: "3.1.2.1.2.3"
cis_benchmark: "CIS Google Workspace Foundations Benchmark v1.3.0"
tech_stack: [gcp, google-workspace]
cwe_ids: []
chains_with: []
prerequisites: []
severity_boost: {}
---
# 3.1.2.1.2.3 Ensure shared drive file access is restricted to members only
## Level
L1
## Profile Applicability
- Enterprise Level 1
## Type
Manual
## Description
Shared drive file access should be restricted to that shared drive's members.
## Rationale
Preventing unauthorized users from access sensitive data is paramount in preventing unauthorized or unintentional information disclosures.
## Impact
Disabling this feature will prevent shared drive non-members from accessing content in shared drives where they are not a member.
## Audit
To verify this setting via the Google Workspace Admin Console:
1. Log in to `https://admin.google.com` as an administrator
2. Select `Apps`
3. Select `Google Workspace`
4. Select `Drive and Docs`
5. Select `Sharing settings`
6. Under `Shared drive creation`, ensure `Allow people who aren't shared drive members to be added to files` is `unchecked`
## Remediation
To configure this setting via the Google Workspace Admin Console:
1. Log in to `https://admin.google.com` as an administrator
2. Select `Apps`
3. Select `Google Workspace`
4. Select `Drive and Docs`
5. Select `Sharing settings`
6. Under `Shared drive creation`, set `Allow people who aren't shared drive members to be added to files` to `unchecked`
7. Select `Save`
## Default Value
`Allow people who aren't shared drive members to be added to files` is `checked`
## CIS Controls
| Controls Version | Control | IG 1 | IG 2 | IG 3 |
| ---------------- | ----------------------------------------------------- | ---- | ---- | ---- |
| v8 | 3.3 Configure Data Access Control Lists | x | x | x |
| v7 | 14.6 Protect Information through Access Control Lists | x | x | x |
Is this your skill, or is something wrong with this listing? Request removal or report an issue. Author removals are honored within 72 hours.
No comments yet. Be the first to comment!