Ensure manager access members cannot modify shared drive settings
Scanned 9/3/2026
Install to Claude Code
npx -y skills add CyberStrikeus/CyberStrike --skill cis-gworkspace-3.1.2.1.2.2 --agent claude-codeInstalls into .claude/skills of the current project.
Are you the author of Cis Gworkspace 3.1.2.1.2.2?
Add the live security badge to your README — it updates automatically with every re-scan.
[](https://www.skillsdirectory.com/skills/cyberstrikeus-cis-gworkspace-3-1-2-1-2-2)More formats (shields.io, HTML) on the badges page.
---
name: cis-gworkspace-3.1.2.1.2.2
description: "Ensure manager access members cannot modify shared drive settings"
category: cis-gworkspace
version: "1.3.0"
author: cyberstrike-official
tags: [cis, gcp, google-workspace, drive, docs, shared-drives, file-access]
cis_id: "3.1.2.1.2.2"
cis_benchmark: "CIS Google Workspace Foundations Benchmark v1.3.0"
tech_stack: [gcp, google-workspace]
cwe_ids: []
chains_with: []
prerequisites: []
severity_boost: {}
---
# 3.1.2.1.2.2 Ensure manager access members cannot modify shared drive settings
## Level
L1
## Profile Applicability
- Enterprise Level 1
## Type
Manual
## Description
Only administrators should be able to modify shared drive settings.
## Rationale
Allowing manager access members to override or modify shared drive settings can allow intentional and unintentional data access by unauthorized users.
## Impact
Disabling this feature will prevent manager access members from modifying shared drive settings, requiring administrators to perform settings modifications as required.
## Audit
To verify this setting via the Google Workspace Admin Console:
1. Log in to `https://admin.google.com` as an administrator
2. Select `Apps`
3. Select `Google Workspace`
4. Select `Drive and Docs`
5. Select `Sharing settings`
6. Under `Shared drive creation`, ensure `Allow members with manager access to override the settings below` is `unchecked`
## Remediation
To configure this setting via the Google Workspace Admin Console:
1. Log in to `https://admin.google.com` as an administrator
2. Select `Apps`
3. Select `Google Workspace`
4. Select `Drive and Docs`
5. Select `Sharing settings`
6. Under `Shared drive creation`, set `Allow members with manager access to override the settings below` to `unchecked`
7. Select `Save`
## Default Value
`Allow members with manager access to override the settings below` is `checked`
## CIS Controls
| Controls Version | Control | IG 1 | IG 2 | IG 3 |
| ---------------- | ----------------------------------------------------- | ---- | ---- | ---- |
| v8 | 3.3 Configure Data Access Control Lists | x | x | x |
| v7 | 14.6 Protect Information through Access Control Lists | x | x | x |
Is this your skill, or is something wrong with this listing? Request removal or report an issue. Author removals are honored within 72 hours.
No comments yet. Be the first to comment!