Ensure users can create new shared drives
Scanned 9/3/2026
Install to Claude Code
npx -y skills add CyberStrikeus/CyberStrike --skill cis-gworkspace-3.1.2.1.2.1 --agent claude-codeInstalls into .claude/skills of the current project.
Are you the author of Cis Gworkspace 3.1.2.1.2.1?
Add the live security badge to your README — it updates automatically with every re-scan.
[](https://www.skillsdirectory.com/skills/cyberstrikeus-cis-gworkspace-3-1-2-1-2-1)More formats (shields.io, HTML) on the badges page.
---
name: cis-gworkspace-3.1.2.1.2.1
description: "Ensure users can create new shared drives"
category: cis-gworkspace
version: "1.3.0"
author: cyberstrike-official
tags: [cis, gcp, google-workspace, drive, docs, shared-drives]
cis_id: "3.1.2.1.2.1"
cis_benchmark: "CIS Google Workspace Foundations Benchmark v1.3.0"
tech_stack: [gcp, google-workspace]
cwe_ids: []
chains_with: []
prerequisites: []
severity_boost: {}
---
# 3.1.2.1.2.1 Ensure users can create new shared drives
## Level
L1
## Profile Applicability
- Enterprise Level 1
## Type
Manual
## Description
All users should have the ability to create new shared drives.
## Rationale
By default, when a user account is deleted all the data in their personal drive is deleted as well. By allowing any user to create new shared drives aids in preventing data loss when user accounts are deleted.
## Impact
Disabling this feature will prevent users from creating new shared drives.
## Audit
To verify this setting via the Google Workspace Admin Console:
1. Log in to `https://admin.google.com` as an administrator
2. Select `Apps`
3. Select `Google Workspace`
4. Select `Drive and Docs`
5. Under `Sharing settings`, select `Shared drive creation`
6. Ensure `Prevent users in <Company> from creating new shared drives` is `un-checked`
## Remediation
To configure this setting via the Google Workspace Admin Console:
1. Log in to `https://admin.google.com` as an administrator
2. Select `Apps`
3. Select `Google Workspace`
4. Select `Drive and Docs`
5. Under `Sharing settings`, select `Shared drive creation`
6. Set `Prevent users in <Company> from creating new shared drives` to `unchecked`
7. Select `Save`
## Default Value
`Prevent users in <Company> from creating new shared drives` is `unchecked`
## CIS Controls
This recommendation is not mapped to any CIS Controls.
Is this your skill, or is something wrong with this listing? Request removal or report an issue. Author removals are honored within 72 hours.
No comments yet. Be the first to comment!