Ensure users are warned when they share a file outside their domain
Scanned 9/3/2026
Install to Claude Code
npx -y skills add CyberStrikeus/CyberStrike --skill cis-gworkspace-3.1.2.1.1.1 --agent claude-codeInstalls into .claude/skills of the current project.
Are you the author of Cis Gworkspace 3.1.2.1.1.1?
Add the live security badge to your README — it updates automatically with every re-scan.
[](https://www.skillsdirectory.com/skills/cyberstrikeus-cis-gworkspace-3-1-2-1-1-1)More formats (shields.io, HTML) on the badges page.
---
name: cis-gworkspace-3.1.2.1.1.1
description: "Ensure users are warned when they share a file outside their domain"
category: cis-gworkspace
version: "1.3.0"
author: cyberstrike-official
tags: [cis, gcp, google-workspace, drive, docs, sharing, file-access]
cis_id: "3.1.2.1.1.1"
cis_benchmark: "CIS Google Workspace Foundations Benchmark v1.3.0"
tech_stack: [gcp, google-workspace]
cwe_ids: []
chains_with: []
prerequisites: []
severity_boost: {}
---
# 3.1.2.1.1.1 Ensure users are warned when they share a file outside their domain
## Level
L1
## Profile Applicability
- Enterprise Level 1
## Type
Manual
## Description
Warn the user when they try and share a file and/or shared drive externally.
## Rationale
The user may not realize the potential account is external to the organization. Providing a warning allows the user an opportunity to know this and possibly reassess this sharing.
## Impact
None, except an additional warning. Sharing can still occur.
## Audit
To verify this setting via the Google Workspace Admin Console:
1. Log in to `https://admin.google.com` as an administrator
2. Select `Apps`
3. Select `Drive and Docs`
4. Select `Sharing Settings`
5. Select `Sharing Options`
6. Under `Sharing outside of <Company>`
7. Ensure `ON - Files owned by users in <Company> can be shared outside of <Company>. This applies to files in all shared drives as well.` is `checked`. Also, ensure the sub-setting `For files owned by users in <Company> warn when sharing outside of <Company>` is `checked`.
## Remediation
To configure this setting via the Google Workspace Admin Console:
1. Log in to `https://admin.google.com` as an administrator
2. Select `Apps`
3. Select `Drive and Docs`
4. Select `Sharing Settings`
5. Select `Sharing Options`
6. Under `Sharing outside of <Company>`
7. Set `ON - Files owned by users in <Company> can be shared outside of <Company>. This applies to files in all shared drives as well.` to `checked`. Also, set the sub-setting `For files owned by users in <Company> warn when sharing outside of <Company>` to `checked`.
8. Select `Save`
## Default Value
`For files owned by users in <Company> warn when sharing outside of <Company>` is `checked`
## CIS Controls
| Controls Version | Control | IG 1 | IG 2 | IG 3 |
| ---------------- | ------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ---- | ---- | ---- |
| v8 | 4.8 Uninstall or Disable Unnecessary Services on Enterprise Assets and Software | | x | x |
| v7 | 9.2 Ensure Only Approved Ports, Protocols and Services Are Running | | x | x |

Is this your skill, or is something wrong with this listing? Request removal or report an issue. Author removals are honored within 72 hours.
No comments yet. Be the first to comment!